My Religion

http://www.canstockphoto.com

What religion you follow?
who? Me?
I don’t know
for sure
I was born a Buddhist
read The life of the Buddha
went to pagodas to pray
I saw a Hindu temple
read the Gita
folded my hands
and prayed
I saw a Church
read the Bible
knelt in front of Christ on the Cross
and prayed
I saw a Mosque
read the Quran
spread my palms
for prayer
now you tell me
what religion I follow?
if you are confused
Humanity I call it
the only  religion I follow

[Not meant to hurt the sentiments of anyone.]

This poem is entered in the Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 (November 4-10)

39 thoughts on “My Religion

  1. That was exactly why I abandoned religion years ago; Humanity wasn’t on the list of choices. If people actually just practiced that religion, there would be no different factions, no wars.

    And not only do I like what you practice; I also like your poem. 🙂

  2. I enjoyed this one as well as the thoughts on the religion. I firmly believe that religion is nothing but the sign boards on your path, not the end. Just like various countries have sign boards of different types and with different languages, same way there are various religions teaching almost the same things in different language. Its for us to choose what our innerself can read or what our innerself can understand.. so the desire to explore relgion is not the end result but a step towards understanding the sign boards and the be on our path to our own end…
    I like in the simple way you have given a meaning to humanity… its also a religion, if I may say so, only without a deity or an idol to pray upon but mass consciousness…
    Thanks for sharing.

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  3. This piece speaks greatness. To myself anyway.. I know what you’re talking about and you write it amazingly. Thank you for this : )
    -Roxanne

  4. If we were all humans for the sake of humanity, this world would be a much better place. I like this poem. 🙂

  5. love the way you depicted Humanity as your religion the point was heard and as one of the fellow comments above more of us do need to practice it!

Leave a comment