The begging entertainer

Picture for WordsWorthMillions

A very busy bright afternoon
took me to a bar
to get myself a bottle of coke
then came a man
with a rope around his neck
by which he said he will hang himself
if people didn’t give him money
nothing sad here
he was smiling all the while
even enjoying the attention
when he signaled to people around
the bar woman shooed him
people laughed
he kept signaling to hang himself
with my eyes on him
I reached in for my purse
gave him some money
but I didn’t give alms
for he was an able man
I paid an entertainer
for amusing me that hot afternoon
posing for my camera

6 thoughts on “The begging entertainer

Leave a Reply

