Counting sheep

http://www.flickr.com

Counting sheep
two gates
first gate open
count and second gate
open into the barn
no
I lose count;
one entrance
count and into the barn
no
they run too fast;
lead them one by one
into the barn
no
this takes time;
I will let them jump the fence
count and into the barn
no
some jump too low
get stuck in the fence;
frustrated
it’s been hours;
shall I lead them
to the slaughter-house?
no
they look at me with sad eyes
guilt gets me there;
I open my eyes
it is morning already
yawn

[This poem is entered for Thursday Poets Rally Week 33 (November 18-24) on Jingle]

22 thoughts on “Counting sheep

  1. Ah, that was really nice to read, enjoyable and fun! You know, I’ve noticed too, counting sheep doesn’t really work, so I count other things/ handsome men, shoes, trips around the world, the sand on some lovely beach :)/ Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is so novel an approach to counting sheep. Nicely done. The Muslims just commemorated with the slaughtering of sheep this past week.

Leave a Reply

