Waste management

There was a new meeting
I needed to attend
important people were coming
I was told
to talk on a very important issue
called waste management
I didn’t want to go but
it was very important
they said in between
I sat down to
three and half hours
between dozing off
and pinches
listened to important talks
of more than dozen people
on theories of managing
our waste
then came refreshment
tea was served in plastic cups
snacks in paper plates
water in pet bottles were passed around
so were candies in wrappers
all in a plastic bag were passed
didn’t they say plastic bags
were banned in the country
oh I blushed
were we talking of
managing waste
or did I misunderstand
unable to gather the rational
I watched the important talkers
chomp snacks off paper plates
drink from plastic cups
accept pet bottled water
pop the candies in their mouth
while the wrappers fell at their feet
I saw my time wasted
I should have had a good sleep
I thought as I walked out
and I swear
I didn’t touch
anything of the refreshment

3 thoughts on “Waste management

  1. Waste “management” is a huge problem in the U.S. One city can produce more waste in a day than a third world country makes in a year. Not to mention that giant floating trash island in the Pacific. I also saw in a documentary that U.S. companies are shipping and dumping their electronic waste in Africa because it’s a “hassle” to recycle electronics properly here. African children go through these sharp metal piles to collect electronic parts to sell in their villages for a little money.

    California tried to ban plastic bags, but the legislation didn’t pass. People should either bring reusable tote bags to the grocery store or use paper bags because at least paper is biodegradable and can be recycled more than plastic. Plastic can only be recycled so many times before it becomes toxic.

Leave a Reply

