SPRING IN MY HEART

Beginning of yet another year
the onset of spring has taken
away the coldness in the floor
my feet are warmer now
the heavy shower
and baby leaves have started sprouting
in places of the dark dead twigs
the birds chirp music in the red cotton trees
I look up to see the blossoms there
where there weren’t any, yesterday

I walk by the river side
the path is trodden with
small white flower petals
I smile at myself thinking about what I said
not being able to spend another moment
with heartache
another year has added on
to the heartache moments
like my floor getting warmer with spring
my heart is getting warmer
with every passing year

Down the path and up the path
I meet people who would smile at me
I feel beautiful, alive and light hearted
light footed, I walk home
spring has set in my heart

9th March

[This poem has been entered in the Monday Poetry Potluck on Jingle Poetry.]

16 thoughts on “SPRING IN MY HEART

  1. Beautiful one Aurora!!
    Absolutely delicious.. what better than one lovely hopeful one? I feel so refreshed reading this wonderful song.. 🙂

    Very well written MyD.. xoxox

  2. Great words….the thaw of spring… I like these lines best:
    I smile at myself thinking about what I said
    not being able to spend another moment
    with heartache
    another year has added on
    to the heartache moments

Leave a Reply

